Don’t make hasty decisions part 1

This is the one issue I feel most strongly about.  I made this mistake and I am determined to keep others from making it.  I want others to learn from my mistakes and errors since no one should have to go through what I’m going through.

In the summer of 2007 I graduated with a degree in English.  This was after many long years of trying to double major in elementary education as well.  Eventually I flunked out of the elementary education program and finished my degree in English.  At the end of the summer of 2007 I started a masters of arts program in elementary education.  I didn’t give it much thought and even though I have a passion for writing I thought that God was calling me to become a teacher.

The reason I rushed was because I wanted to move on with my life and finally have some success.  I was tired of struggling financially and I figured that the sooner I started making that teacher salary the better.  In the spring 2009 I had my first student teaching attempt and was kicked out halfway through.  It took me two more years but in the spring of 2011 I finally got a second placement.  I ended up being kicked out of the placement after one day.  Since the program only allowed me two chances to student teach I was taken out of the program.  It’s now a little over a year over and while I can most likely have the student loans discharged because I never graduated, my financial situation is still a lot worse then it was back in the summer of 2007.

I’m now left wishing I had gone for a masters in creative writing or English and am left with a lot of personal regret and resentment.  I still hope to get a masters one day and will work hard to try to make it happen.  However, due to my financial situation I don’t know when that will happen.  When the opportunity does come, I will take the time to pick the right school, right major, and right financial options.  If I hadn’t been so hasty I would probably have a masters degree and a good career path now.  There’s a lot of truth in the saying that haste makes waste.

5 thoughts on “Don’t make hasty decisions part 1

  1. A masters in ‘creative writing’ will teach you to do what?

    What do you like to read? Your favorite authors may very well have written articles, even entire books on how they do it.

    Will this make you rich and famous? Probably not. But it’s not a bad thing to try.

  2. Write better! As I said I’m considering a masters in English too. I mainly like to read mystery and suspense. I have no desire to be rich or famous I just want to be able to support myself.

    • Well, teaching used to be a way of supporting oneself. Even ‘teaching’ ‘creative writing.’

      Writing — even mystery and suspense — isn’t usually a great career move. More likely to cost you money than ‘support’ you. But a person’s gotta do what a person’s gotta do.

      I understand that a guy once showed Gertrude Stein some of his scribblings and asked if he should continue; she said “Nah.” Some years later he talked to someone who’d ignored her advice and done okay. She said ~(more or less) “If you had been a writer you would have ignored my advice.”

  3. So much “Christian” this and “Christian” that; was Jesus “a Christian”?

    Anyway, re decision-making overall: [Erich Schiffmann’s yoga book]:
    —-
    Listening For GuidancePrint

    The Practice of Spontaneous Wisdom

    When you experience yourself in stillness, you will intuit a new way of using your mind. You will be taught – from within the stillness – how to receive moment-to-moment inner guidance during the day from the Infinite Mind, and you will be given individually pertinent spiritual teachings.

    These are two valuable and practical themes because with inner guidance and spiritual insight, you can know with certainty the most appropriate thing to do at any given moment in your life. Inner guidance is the means of right action. It is how you can know what to do. It is your deepest knowing made conscious. And as you learn to trust and make use of this faculty, it can become your decision maker. The more experience you have with it and the better you get at utilizing the information available to you, the more convinced you’ll be of just how wonderful an attribute of mind this actually is. Listening for guidance is the technique of spontaneous wisdom.

    The spiritual teachings you’ll receive from within your silent mind will be the source of new meaning in your life, revealing to you lift’s inherent meaning. Spiritual teachings are communications of truth about the way things are. They will answer your conscious and unconscious questions concerning the nature of who you are and how the world works. Inspiring and guiding you in your thought, speech, and behavior, they will come in the form of clarifying insights and sudden inspirations, creative ideas, intuitive knowings, life circumstances, people and situations, hunches, premonitions, desires, attractions, and spontaneous impulses. Spiritual principles will then no longer seem foreign or irrelevant, divorced from daily life, and they will no longer be gleaned from books and teachers only. The teachings, taught from within, will he pertinent to you and your life. They will make sense to you, meaningful sense.

    As this happens, life takes on a growing significance. You begin to understand and appreciate in a totally new way the fact that your life is indeed absolutely worthy of your fullest attention. And as you give it the undivided attention it deserves, moment by moment by moment, your life will become increasingly interesting. Remember, it’s difficult to be interested in something if you are not paying attention to that thing. You may be listening to the most beautiful sonata in the world, but you won’t know until you give it your attention and listen, if you join with it, do yoga with it, become one with it. As you do this with your life you will feel young again, renewed, refreshed, regenerated, optimistic, confident, secure, at peace … and you will experience authentic happiness. That is, happiness without guilt.

    Experience yourself in silence, then – sit motionless, quiet your mind, immerse yourself in the feeling-tone of your own unique being, and then simply be aware of what you are experiencing of the world around you and within. This profound practice will clarify who you are and what your life purpose is and also make available the means to fulfill that purpose intelligently.

    Of course, you will continue to experience life’s exotic mystery, the wonderful attribute that makes total comprehension impossible, but the confusion will be gone. And as you allow yourself to savor the feeling-tone of your own mysterious being, you will clearly understand that you are a creation or expression of the creative God Force and that you are therefore literally and eternally connected to this Force because you are one with it. And this being so, you are in the wonderful position of being able to receive universal guidance that benefits all and is in harmony with every living thing. [more? http://www.movingintostillness.com/book/meditation_divine_guidance.html ]

Leave a Reply

